Inktense…and lack of skintones

So I’m playing with my new and lovely Derwent Inktense pencils in a posh wooden box that I was all excited about for ages, and it suddenly dawns on me when I get ready to swatch for Athani’s face…I have no skin tones.  This fab set of 72 pencils has no skin pigment!  Truth be told, the colours are all very deep and if you have any skill with watercolours you can dilute and mix rich colours to create any shade you want…but I have a try with yellows and browns and find that my test character, poor old Miguel, looks very ill and yellow.  I give Ramsey a try too, since his skin is bright orange I have a better result, but for more realistic human skintones I need colours to make my work easier.  I’m being lazy, I know, but I won’t always be able to have my palette and tube paints with me when I want to paint skin.

So I hope online to Artifolk (my old faithful!) and buy six vaguely skintone related watercolour pencils.  I’ll use them to supplement my lovely art box, hopefully it will make life a little easier. 🙂  One brand was “buy 4, get 1 free”, so I bought five of those and one other brand.  Swatches shall follow!

Leave a Reply

