Big Leap Year Art Update!

It’s been too long since I compiled my artwork and unfinished scribbles on this blog so I’ll do it now to get me started.  Came back from physiotherapy the other day and apparently I’m doing well 🙂 Today is also World Book Day!  As an author I appreciate this day of days…not to mention St David’s Day and my dad’s birthday to boot.

Dating back to the end of 2011 before my accident…

*

Christmas Elves

After I finished my Christmas picture of Angel, I barely managed to squeeze this one in before I jumped on the plane to Ireland for the holidays.  From various places, from left to right: Foless (Lightning Warrior Raidy), Zevran & Fenris (Dragon Age) and Echidna (Queen’s Blade), who in our Alternate Universe are brothers and sisters.  Being elves for Christmas.  And I realise how much I both love and hate drawing bristly garlands. 🙂

Pinkie’s Exercise Centre

My first picture of 2012 is this one of Pinkie Pie from My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, advertising her weight loss scheme to help all the insecure ponies lose a little weight after Christmas.  This came about after my fiance tried some Rosemary Conley brand low-fat cheese and declared it to be the work of the devil.  And Pinkie then went on to wear workout duds in an actual episode.  That’s prophecy for you!

Posing Ponies

Along with other pony things came this one of sorta-people-pony-form Fluttershy, Twilight Sparkle, Pinkie Pie, Rainbow Dash, Applejack & Rarity hanging around in the nude.  Normally that would be a given for ponies, but with their slightly anthropomorphic forms in our AU, they had to cover up.  And it gave me a chance to show Applejack cuddling up to Rainbow Dash…just because.

Octavia & Vinyl Scratch

Another pony picture, this time on request, featuring two of the non-main My Little Pony cast.  They’re so delightfully different, but oh so similar in their appreciation of music.  So naturally they go together.

*

THEN came Hideo Kojima mentioning in an interview that he wanted to do a Metal Gear game featuring the COBRA Unit that we love so dear.  And about a million pieces of artwork came pouring out of my brain!  Mwa ha haa…

Keeping things cartoony, because we’re happy to have them back!

Still cartoony, but now in a hot tub, and featuring The Pain’s awesome manboobs.

Cobra Kids!  Left to right: The Joy, The Fear, The Sorrow, The Pain & The Fury

Now a quick muddle of the COBRA Unit (minus The End, who was old when the dinosaurs were young) as young kidlets.  With many of their fiftieth birthdays coming up in our fan universe (apart from The Sorrow who just turned fifty-one), it’s nice to give them a chance to reflect on their cute youth.  And having the chance to shove in more in-jokes about The Fear’s poverty, The Pain’s Cartman resemblance, The Fury’s love of space…

Miguel (The Fear)’s Character Sheet

I was mulling over character sheets again and decided to do one for The Fear’s incarnation in our AU, to separate it from the bare personality he was given in his actual game.  We’ve done so much with the entire COBRA Unit, even the old man has an expanded outlook whenever he’s actually awake.  So I fiddled with expressions and some poses, stuck a bunch of info on there, and now I have a template for if I ever have the time to do both persona sheets for each member 🙂

Chris (The Pain)’s Character Sheet

And a matching one for The Pain’s developed personality in our AU, quick poses, expressions and a blurb. 🙂 He’s so colourless…

And while we’re on an AU roll and since I haven’t done one in a while, it’s our own Chris and Miguel, in their Metal Gear appropriate clothes, having a moment of luvviness. D’aww…because it’s too damn cute.

Fear Before The Dark

God I was so hyper to do bare feet in this picture and I did.  A more canonical picture of The Fear this time, hanging about with one of his needles, having either just shot up or about to, when his dear chubby, hornet-filled comrade, The Pain, comes to fetch him.  Time for the off!

Fury Before The Dark

I wanted to do these pictures years ago and finally got around to them now!  This time it’s The Fury before the end of everything, having a last minute smoke as he gets into his cosmonaut costume.  Much fun was had scarring his skin and dirtying up his clothes on this one.  Oh, if only it would all end well…

Maria’s Pregnancy

Back to cartoony-ness and our AU, Miguel’s sister Maria is currently pregnant again, this time by Miguel’s life partner, Chris.  And it’s all fiine, just fiine.  He was a bit iffy about it at first but he’s generally fine now, Chris and Maria were each other’s first lover, and he’s generally used to his sister stealing everything from him.  First food and credit cards, and now this?  He’s a very tolerant man.  And Yuri and Boris both dated her in the past.  She gets around.

Nekkid in Graniny Gorki

Because Miguel’s always being shoved around, here’s The Fear in his Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater clearing waiting to (fail to) kill Snake.  But now he seems to have mislaid his uniform.  For absolutely NO reason…I just love playing with anatomy. XP I should have added a bunny in there…or a hippo, just some kind of random animal.  There’s so much fun to be had with feet!

Sheeva B.

Done as a request, it’s our beloved anthro panther, Sheeva, done up as Sam B. from Dead Island.  Because she’s so flippant with people and the two just go together so well…it also suits very well because Sheeva’s last initial is B anyway.  Sheeva B don’ givva fu**!  She cayn’t!

Fear-friend’s Fiftieth

On 6th February this year, on the day I went for my first physiotherapy, our Miguel turned fifty.  He’d been spasming around with horror about it for weeks, but now it’s come and gone…and he can at least feel good that he’s surrounded by people who love him.  Most of the time.

Valentine’s 2012

An incredibly quick sketch for Valentine’s Day.  As is probably very obvious, the original drawing for this is tiny XD It’s quick but to the point.  Yay for Pain-friend and Fear-friend, they’ve been together for about 5 years now!  Aand poor Sorrow-friend and Fury-friend.  Too bad things didn’t work out with The Boss for either of them.  But they have each other, and the old man has his bird.

Brainy Brazilian Beauties

In tribute to three of our random fandom original characters: Chris and Miguel’s adopted daughter Ally, Miguel’s sister Flavia, and their dear journalist friend, Angel.  Because they’re hot AND smart!  Yay for Brazil!

Cobra Unit Friends

And my final, great triumph for this post, it took me many, many hours to do.  It’s a strange COBRA Unit picture with a retro Friends twist (I know, pretty outdated but I couldn’t resist).  Based on one of my favourite pictures I ever did of the COBRA Unit, “Colours of our Unit”, they’re all younger and wearing the same outfits as in that picture…but now with complimentary umbrellas!

Out of interest and because it amuses me, the poses are based on the following characters each from left to right: The Sorrow (Ross), The Boss/Joy (Monica), The Fear (Joey), The End (Chandler), The Pain (Phoebe) & The Fury (Rachel).  Sort of makes sense for half of them, if The Sorrow is boring and educated, The Boss is an anal control freak, and The Fear is promiscuous as Hell.  Now I think we should make The End a failed comedian, The Pain a vegetarian, and give The Fury a long and tumultuous will-they-won’t-they relationship with The Sorrow.  Yep.  That would make things much more interesting.

*

That’s my assortment for now, I’m in the middle of doing my sketchbook art for the Brooklyn gallery and I just finished a commission for someone so I’ve been pretty busy, and with going back to work in a fortnight and fitting in my physio I’m snowed under right now. 🙂 Will try to keep updating everything to the best of my ability.  Onward!

Leave a Reply

